I hear that you all worked hard over the last couple of weeks so well done for that.  I hope you also did your homework and watched the Bill Furniss video I posted last time.  You will be tested on it this week!

This week we will be picking the pace up a bit more with some anaerobic threshold paced swimming as well as some technique work.

I’ve talked about anaerobic threshold paced swimming a number of times before but the basic idea is that you will get more rest than usual so you should be swimming at the fastest pace you can sustain throughout the set.

For technique I would like you to think about a common fault I see which is letting your arms get in too close to your centre line at the front of your stroke or even crossing over the centre line.  So I’d like you to think about about keeping the space between your arms so they enter in front of your shoulder rather than in front of your head.  You will have seen this in the Bill Furniss video from last time but if you missed it you can just watch 17:45 – 19:45 in the video.  Having a good high-elbow recovery is a good way to set yourself up to achieve this.

See you Saturday,

Rob

